Pages: | 1 |

Simon Chadwick
Clarsach na Banrighe (The Queen's Harp) EGH 1
Clarsach na Banrighe (The Queen's Harp)
Medieval and 18th century Scottish harp music played on a newly commissioned replica of the famous medieval Scottish Queen Mary harp.

The metal strings give a very different sound from the gut-strung harp on these often stately pieces.

The medieval section of the CD includes 13th century church repertory from St Andrews Cathedral (where the CD was recorded), as well as from Inchcolm island in the Firth of Forth.

The second half of the CD presents, for the first time, the complete repertory of John Robertson of Lude, Perthshire, who owned and played the Queen Mary harp in the early 18th century. As well as airs, ports and a family salute, it includes a Gaelic song on the battle of Sherrifmuir, which has been newly matched to its original tune and is sung by guest Mairead Murnion from Co Down, Ireland.

Part 1: Medieval Church Music:
1. Vir Perfecte
2. Vir Iste
3. Kyrie Virginitatus Amator
4. Salve Splendor
5. Pater Columba
6. Ex Te Lux Oritur, O Dulcis Scotia
7. Nobilis Humilis.
Part 2: Medieval Instrumental Music:
8. Burns March
9. Battle of Hara Law.
Interlude: 17th & 18th Century Clarsach Music:
10. Rory Dall's Port (Jig)
11. Da Mihi Manum
12. Cumh Easpuic Earra-ghaoildheal.
Part 3: The Queen Mary Harp at Lude House:
13. Air by Fingal
14. Air by Fingal
15. Air by Fingal
16. McLoud's Salute
17. Lude's Supper
18. Port Lennox
19. Port Gordon
20. Oran air Cath Sliabh an t Siorraimh
21. Port Athol.
22. The Flowres of the Forrest

Price: € 18.00

Pages: | 1 |



  You can order material by phone or by E-mail. We garantee a quick delivery. Payment should be done after delivery (in , US $, GBP)
AADS vzw - Resedastraat 8 - B9920 Lovendegem - tel.: +32 (0)9 372 96 35
© AADS - info: